Info

OnTravel

Journalists Paul Lasley and Elizabeth Harryman have been covering the world of travel since flying was fun. Today they cover all aspects of travel from gear to destinations and interview those who shape the future of travel. All podcasts are created first as broadcasts that reach all Americans in embassies, consulates, scientific research stations, and all those posted overseas
RSS Feed
OnTravel
2019
September
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Sep 8, 2019

Global traveler Gary Arndt of Everything-Everywhere.com joins Paul to discuss Hong Kong and the state of travel.

Sep 8, 2019

Nancy Light of the California Wine Institute joins Paul at Book Passage in Marin County to discuss traveling to enjoy the harvest in the state’s wine country. They also talk about the new book Wine Country Table, by Janet Fletcher.

Sep 8, 2019

Pauline Frommer, Editorial Director of Frommer’s Guidebooks and co-host of The Travel Show on WABC in New York, joins Paul to discuss her new book Frommer’s Easy Guide to New York City 2019. She also chats about what makes great travel guidebook writing and shares the fun she had in writing about her beloved New York.

Sep 8, 2019

Sabine Bergmann and Sivani Babu, co-founders of Hidden Compass, join Paul and Elizabeth to reveal how they combine travel, science, and great story-telling to create a website with compelling articles and beautiful photographs. They also share their vision of how travel communication can help to build a better world.

Sep 8, 2019

Elaine Petrocelli of Book Passage, the premier bookstore in the San Francisco Bay area joins Paul and Elizabeth to discuss the glory of the printed word. Artist Candace Rose Rardon joins in to reveal how visual arts can enhance written communication and how you can build your own personal brand.

Sep 8, 2019

Premier interviewer Michael Shapiro joins Paul to discuss his new book, The Creative Spark, a compendium of interviews he’s done with such celebrities as David Sedaris, Francis Ford Coppola, Jane Goodall, and Smokey Robinson.

Sep 8, 2019

Linda Watanabe McFerrin is an essayist, a novelist, a poet, and a nonfiction writer. She joins Paul and Elizabeth to discuss how her new anthology, Navigating the Divide, spans all those genres, taking readers on both inward and outward journeys.

Sep 8, 2019

Larry Habegger, cofounder of Travelers’ Tales joins Paul and Elizabeth to discuss how this independent publishing house has become a respected repository of great travel writing, showcasing famous authors and giving newcomers a chance.

Sep 8, 2019

Paul explores the planet Batuu and the mysteries of Star Wars Galaxy's Edge, Disneyland's revolutionary new adventure. He also finds plenty of Disney classics to enjoy, like the magical Main Street Electrical Parade.

Sep 8, 2019

LuggageHero.com’s Jannik Lawaetz explains how this service provides a secure place to store your luggage if you’re not staying in a hotel.

Sep 8, 2019

GoNomad’s Max Hartshorne chats with Paul about Aisne, France. This less-visited part of the country has a lot of World War I history, as well as great culture and food. More at www.GoNomad.com.

Sep 7, 2019

Evan Evans offers special interest tours in London and beyond. Visit Stonehenge, explore Oxford, and tour the Cotswolds with expert guides who provide real insight and accurate information.

Sep 7, 2019

Rubens at the Palace Hotel General Manager Malcolm Hendry reveals the hotel’s unique role in London history. Where else can you have tea looking on Buckingham Palace’s Royal Mews.

https://www.rubenshotel.com/

 

Jul 25, 2019

Fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society can trace the novel’s location on this island in the English Channel, plus experience gorgeous scenery, great seafood, and butter and cream from Guernsey cows.

Jul 25, 2019

The Old Government House hotel’s Andrew Chantrell reveals the important roles the hotel has played in the history of Guernsey.

Jul 25, 2019

Chez Chesak finds lasting memories in Namibia that make visiting a truly unique experience. He discovers the wonders of sand and desert elephants.

Jul 25, 2019

TheTravelCamel’s Shane Dallas chats with Paul and Elizabeth about the glories of France and the thrill of one of the world’s greatest sporting events.

Jul 24, 2019

Leading Bigfoot authority Adam Davies joins Paul and Elizabeth to discuss his search for scientific evidence of the existence of yet-to-be-discovered species around the world.

Jul 15, 2019

Adam Twidell joins Paul to discuss the advantages of flying private  and the money and time it can save. PrivateFly has brought the experience to many who who never dreamed they could actually fly in a private plane, and today is the leading private jet booking platform

Jul 13, 2019

Travel Leaders Group CEO Ninan Chacko reveals how its partnership benefits Amex Gold and Platinum members so that they have deeper travel experiences and save money.

Jul 13, 2019

David Latt talks about the advances he has found in Japan and especially in Tokyo to make it easier for visitors to get around.

Jul 13, 2019

New York Botanical Garden President and CEO Carrie Barratt joins Paul and Elizabeth to chat about the role of plants in our future and why we need plants not only for their beauty but our survival.

Jul 2, 2019

Paula Carroll shares the secrets of Ashford Castle in Ireland which celebrates it's 80th birthday as a hotel. It was built in 1228 and therein lies a story. Today it is a refuge for those seeking real luxury and service worthy of a great country house where you can enjoy the pleasures of the country from fishing to riding. 

Jul 1, 2019

Writer Amy Beth Wright joins Paul and Elizabeth for a visit to Hauteville House on Guernsey, where Victor Hugo lived in exile from France.

Jul 1, 2019

Steve Perillo joins Paul to talk about whether to use dogs or pigs to hunt truffles and what the best pasta dishes are to use with fresh truffles.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » 14